First m43 Print!

Real Name
Jeff
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
I’m not sure where this belongs, so I will leave this here, along with a little intro.

Life happened and I took a long break (6 years) from photography. Sold most of my camera gear (both Nikon and Canon) at the time and then last December I decided to pick it back up. I started reading about m43 system and was immediately intrigued!

After owning the Panasonic G85, I picked up an Olympus OM-D and fell in love with the little retro looking camera body, sold the G85 and I ended up with the E5MII and of course a bunch of lenses.

A month ago I decided I wanted a moody b&w photo to hang above the fireplace. I had an idea of what I wanted and with the recent storms, it was a perfect time.

Two weeks ago, I shot this photo in La Jolla and was very happy with the results, especially since I’m pretty new to landscape. I searched the net for framing and was surprised about the prices. I ended up with a 20x30, matted and framed for under $100, which wasn’t too bad and the frame, matte, and glastic quality is so-so. My only gripe is I think I could have gone a bit bigger.

I’m extremely happy with the image that the little OMD produced. It looks fantastic printed out! I hope to print more large photos from this system.

Sorry for the long winded post. Just skip my babbling and look at the photo . Taken on an iPhone 6s by my SO, sorry for the crappy image...I think she needs an upgrade!

Last edited:
Real Name
Jeff
Here is the cross-post and comments of the photo above.
---
Hospitals Reef, La Jolla, CA - 3/3/2018

The stormy clouds have been putting me in a b&w mood lately. I'm pretty new to landscape photography and love b&w photos. I also found out my cable release was semi-waterproof after dropping it in the water and still working.

Shot with my Olympus EM5MKII, Panasonic 12-35 f/2.8 @ f/8 for 94 seconds, iso 200.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)