1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

First Impressions with EM-5

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by steve, Apr 12, 2012.

1. steve

steve Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 18, 2010
    Havertown, PA
    Hi,

I was lucky enough to get my EM-5 yesterday and although I haven't spent a considerable amount of time with it, I do have some initial impressions.

A little backstory - I have been shooting Canon DSLRs for several years but purchased a GF1 about 2 1/2 years ago as a carry around camera. I found the GF1 so enjoyable that I wound up using it much more than my 5DmkII. I don't do much pro stuff anymore and find the DSLR too big and heavy for everyday shooting. But when I do use the Canon, I am reminded of just how good of a camera it is. The image quality is amazing. With the EM-5, I am hoping to bridge the gap between the GF1 and the 5DmkII.

Since I have no experience with Olympus, my first reaction to the EM-5 was confusion. I didn't know what any of the buttons did, nor how to navigate the menu. However, the menus are laid out pretty well and mostly intuitive. The body is solid and well built and the camera is comfortable in my hand. I especially like the thumb grip on the back of the camera. However, I found the main dial is too close to the viewfinder for my thumb to reach it naturally. I'm sure I'll get used to it, but to me, the main dial is not ergonomic. Another observation; the camera hums, buzzes, whatever. I'm not used to it, but it really isn't a big deal to me. Electronic devices buzz.

I was disappointed because the battery came with only about 10 minutes of charge in it. So once I figured out the menu and was ready to shoot, I had to stop and charge the battery for a couple of hours.