First attempt at lightning

Discussion in 'Other Genres' started by Djarum, Sep 8, 2014.

1. Djarum

Djarum Super Moderator

Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Jason
    There was a significant amount of cloud to cloud lightning south of my home on Saturday night. I probably took 200 photos. This is my first attempt. These were the keepers. E-PL5 + 40-150 + tripod. I added contrast to make the streaks pop a little more.

P9061380002.

P9061352001.

P9061389003.

P9061390004.

P9061412005.

P9061435006.

P9061504007.

• Like Like x 3
  2. RDM

RDM Mu-43 All-Pro

Not bad for a 1st attempt.
    I was looking at these and thinking to myself there are two that stood out as being better than the rest and then I looked at the exif data and realized why ..
    they were the ones with the longest shutter time ... which at 3.2 seconds I think is kinda short for lightning shots. Those should have been exposed at least a couple seconds more, IMHO.

You absolutely do not want aperture priority for a setting when taking lightning. You need shutter control. Actually you really don't want auto settings if you can help it. Use Manual. The lightning will create a bright spots which will cause the underexposing of the rest of the image when auto settings are used..

Exposing the Image for at least a second or two after the strike is Fine, you might even catch an extra strike on the same image.

How were you shooting; did you set up a tripod and Fire the shutter the second you seen a flash?
    I have not shot Lightning in Digital yet, but when I did shoot them with film, I would expose during a storm for 20 to 30 seconds, hoping to catch a strike & more often than catching a single strike I would get no strikes or multiple.
    I don't have any scanned that I can show, but it was a method taught to me long ago by professionals, Tho they did recommend longer times to catch Multiple strikes.