Finally got a GH4 :3 and for a steal

KBeezie

Mu-43 All-Pro
Real Name
Karl Blessing
I've been and likely to still be using Olympus primarily for photography. But I been wanting to get into video more often, but on the olympus side that doesn't seem to be cheap for the good stuff (my current E-M1 Mk1 for example is 26mbps and really no functionality for video).

So for a little bit I been using a hacked GH1 to get my ~100mbps video with excellent shadow detail in low light. (a tweak of humpman's firmware settings for the AVCHD stuff, and LPowell's for the rest, with 48i trick to get 24p without enabling the problematic progressive mode)

But the GH1 lacked so much, no audio monitor, no audio levels, no peaking, no zebra, etc etc etc.

This last Saturday I was hired to shoot a wedding, and wanted to give more than one camera angle, but I didn't trust the GH1 enough for it not to crash during the wedding as a secondary camera. So I borrowed from the school I graduated from a GH4, Sigma 85/1.4 with metabones, a Lilliput A7s monitor, and a Go Pro Hero 7 Black. Though I decided not to use the Sigma 85 and went instead with my Rokinon 85/1.4 without a focal reducer because I was up in the balcony and needed the reach. (I used the GH4 + Oly E-M1 as as stabilized secondary, and Hero 7 Black for third alternate angles)

LQdpFYNPDIcGl_a41m-1w9KJqJ-kQGs2RZQM54hfHZwq3lIZnq4hYkKWyROHfwLUisxSc7oN1&_nc_ht=scontent-ort2-2.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

For the purpose of audio without getting in the way of the two photographers they had, I had my digital audio preamp/recorder with a Rode SVM attached sitting on top of the piano which you can see in the E-M1 view towards the right.

upload_2019-6-8_0-33-57.png

I knew I had to get myself a GH4 that I didn't need to borrow, or least something close to it's quality/options.