1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Filter size larger than lens hood

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Etude, Feb 5, 2014.

1. Etude

Etude Long Exposure Addict

Jun 24, 2013
    Ever since I bought my OMD last year, I shoot entirely without a lens hood. Therefore, I have no real life experience on the advantage of a lens hood. From forums and internet, I know that it helps to prevent lens flare and serves as a lens protection.

I recently bought the 12-40mm. I am going to buy ND filters for my 12-40mm for landscape/cityscape photos. I am thinking of buying the standard filter size (77mm) due to a couple of reasons (can be used for future lens sizes; easier to sell etc…)

However, its means that I will not be able to use the 12-40mm lens hood together with the 77mm ND filters. Does the ND filter fulfill the purposes/advantages of the lens hood or is it better and advisable to use both together to achieve better landscape photos.

Seeking kind advice and many thanks in advance.

2. nickthetasmaniac

nickthetasmaniac Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 11, 2011
    To answer your question - no, the filter will not fulfill the same roll as the hood. In fact, due to the added risk of flare and other oddities that come with using filters (even good ones) I'd be more inclined to use the hood.

I'm not entirely sure what you mean by a 'standard' filter size? 77mm isn't the standard and it seems like a waste to oversize on what would be a pretty big filter anyway. The normal 62mm filter for the 12-40mm will fit basically anything in Micro Four Thirds with the appropriate step-down ring.

My advice, spend your money on a good 62mm filter and use the hood religiously.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Etude

Jun 24, 2013
    Thanks for your reply and input!
    It was through a quick conversation with a sales staff that I was told 77mm is the "general standard" size.

Here hoping the upcoming wide zoom from Olympus will not go beyond 62mm.

4. bassman