1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Favorite Lightroom presets

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Speedliner, Mar 10, 2015.

1. Speedliner

Speedliner Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 2, 2015
    Southern NJ, USA
    Rob
    I'm new to DSLRs and am trailing LR/CC to replace PE. As with anything Adobe, the capabilities of the SW are only exceeded by its complexity. LT actually isn't too bad I think. More challenging is deciding how to organize your files and keyword standards.

One simplification though, time being an issue always, is the availability of presets. Manipulating all of the controls is fun, but takes way more time than I'll ever have to do on a large scale. I've seen some great presets offered: at least they looked great.

So what do you experts think? Are there some commercial presets out there that are head and shoulders above the rest for quality, ease and capability?

Remember to talk to me like I'm four years old [emoji6]

2. budeny

budeny Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 4, 2014
    Boulder, CO
    Presets are most useful for repetitiveness of results, not for awesomeness.
    Since you're new to post processing, I would suggest you to start without presets and learn what LR controls can do. Then you will be able to create your own presets that will suite your workflow in best way.

The only presets I would recommend to buy are for color rendering - those are really time consuming and require good vision.
    I have bought Huelight profiles and forum user @Talanis@Talanis has some neat ones too.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  3. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew
    I really don't use any of Adobe's provided presets. I build my own.

I built one for specific sensor types with a "normal" and "hi ISO" setting. I also have them setup for JOG and RAW files. I then use these are the base from which to start completion of the process.