External flash on GX1

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by fluberman, Jan 17, 2013.

1. fluberman

fluberman Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 19, 2012
    Indonesia
    Alex
    As far as I know, GX1 can have sync speed up to 1/160 s, but I wonder everytime I take some shoots with Olympus FL-50 attached on the hotshoe the shutter speed is limited only to 1/60 s.

FL-50, TTL mode
    Aperture priority (I tried different values, from f/1.4 to f/8)
    Auto ISO (the camera gives ISO 160)

If I use an Olympus DSLR E-620, the shutter speed varies up to 1/160 s.

I'm a newbie regarding flash photography, so maybe anybody here can give me some light :)

2. inkista

inkista Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 13, 2012
    San Diego, CA
    What happens if you put the FL-50 into FP-TTL or FP-Manual mode?

3. fluberman

fluberman Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 19, 2012
    Indonesia
    Alex
    I will check when I get home and have access to the flash...

4. rnagoda

rnagoda Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 12, 2012
    Tucson, AZ
    Robert
    I can't speak to this model of flash, but with my GX1 I use a Yongnuo manual flash and sometimes a variety of flashes triggered by a Cowboy Studios radio trigger mounted onto the GX1 hotshoe ... in either case I get sync up to 160 as expected.

Maybe it's something to do with the auto settings - have you tried dialing it in manually?

5. inkista

inkista Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 13, 2012
    San Diego, CA
    I have the G3, not the GX-1, and I recently purchased a used FL-50 to use with it (as in, it arrived two days ago). On the hotshoe or with a TTL sync cord, I get 1/160s if I am not in an FP mode on the flash, but with the FP modes, I can sync all the way to 1/4000s (fastest shutter speed the G3 has). I generally have the camera in M mode when I'm shooting with flash, though. It might also be the mode you have the camera in.