1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Expanding lens selection: long or wide?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by hopium, Dec 8, 2010.

1. hopium

hopium New to Mu-43

Dec 8, 2010
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Hi!

I recently got an E-PL1 with kit lens and the 20mm and will be traveling to Varanasi, India for three months. (Well, the camera hasn't come in the mail yet...) I'm budgeting for one more lens, but am stuck deciding between the 9-18mm and the new Olympus 40-150mm. They're entirely different lenses (in price as well as use!) and I'm not sure what would suit me better despite extensive reading and viewing of sample images. I'm an all-around kind of photographer so it's not easy to pick. My previous camera had an effective range of 28-88mm (Canon Rebel kit lens.) I never found myself missing anything on either end because I was a novice and never knew anything different, but I want to get some really great pictures from my trip so would like to extend my range. A sample of my past photography can be seen here. (Note: Facebook crops the thumbnails, annoyingly.)

So, my questions are:
    1. For those with just a kit lens, do you find yourself missing more the wide or the long end?
    2. I will be hiking for two weeks in the mountains (although most of my time will be spent in the city.) Is 28mm wide enough for landscape uses/is stitching shots a pain? I've never done it before.
    3. For travel photography, do you find wide or long more useful? (I realize this is highly subjective!)

Thanks for your responses. Sorry for noobiness.

2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    How about the 14-150??? Or buy both the other lenses, and plan to sell one when you return. When I went up into the Rockies in August of this year, I bought the 14-150 specifically for that reason, though I also had the 20mm and a fast legacy 50mm for portraits of my companions.