EPM2 or EPL6?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by SSmith, Dec 14, 2016.

1. EPM2

2 vote(s)
    12.5%
  2. EPL6

1 vote(s)
    6.3%
  3. OM-D

13 vote(s)
    81.3%
  1. SSmith

SSmith Mu-43 Regular

Dec 14, 2016
    Okay I recently purchased a epm2 online because I read it was similar to my epl6. However, I need to get the epl6 and the Zuiko 14-42 II lens repaired and Olympus is charging $140 and $80 before taxes respectively. Should I get them repaired or just save money and buy a different camera? I want to go into wedding photography, and I've been told that he epm2 is similar to the OMD cameras. I'm sure this has been a thread before, but I'm new to it all. Help me.

2. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

The E-PM2 is not like an OM-D. Similar image quality maybe (to the 16 MP ones), but usability and performance are not. It's a compact with a single dial and not many buttons, the OM-Ds have viewfinders and multiple dials and buttons.

The newer E-PLs also have improved IBIS compared to the E-PM2, the one in that is ho-hum...

3. SSmith

SSmith Mu-43 Regular

Dec 14, 2016
    So, should I repair the epl6, or save for a OMD?

• Winner Winner x 1
  4. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    You should not repair that lens. It's not much more to buy another lens.

What is wrong with the EPL6?

Neither the EPL6 nor the EPM2 are viable for "going into wedding photography" if by that you mean being paid to take pictures at people's weddings. The handling is not right, the autofocus is not good enough, the high ISO is not good enough for many wedding situations, the lenses you need (which is not the kit lens) will be very big on either body.

If the only thing you need the camera for is paid wedding photography, then you need to completely re-adjust your thinking about how you are going to do that. Research some "equipment recommendations for wedding photography" on google.