EPL5 focus speed

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by WilburNJ, Feb 19, 2013.

1. WilburNJ

WilburNJ Mu-43 Regular

Dec 30, 2012
    Hi folks,

I recently brought my epl5 with the 75 1.8 mounted to a fashion show and was somewhat disappointed with the focus speed I experienced. The last times I went to these events, I used my Canon gear (1d4 w/ 70-200 f/4.0), and the focus speed difference was very different. Almost everything I shot with the canon was a keeper, but the rate with the Oly was probably less than 50%. Undoubtedly, some or maybe much of that performance maybe user error given my newness to the Oly gear. So hopefully I'll improve over time....

Don't get me wrong, I still love the Oly. In fact, so much so that I upgraded to the OMD EM5 a month after owning the epl5. I sold the little brother to a friend and am now happy with the em5 as my everyday gear.

I do have to make a decision about what to do with my canon gear. I'm an amateur enthusiast, so I don't have any real "need" for that pro gear. But, I find it great for pics of my kids when they are playing sports. So, I suppose ill end up keeping the canon gear for that, and maybe for very special international trips.

In the meantime, I'm loving my new gear. :)

Here are a few pics from the fashion show, for those interested:

2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    I think you got some nice shots. Other than AF speed and accuracy, do you have any opinions/comments on actual image quality?

PDAF and properly callibrated DSLR cameras will shoot moving subjects better than m43.

On more static subjects, the EPL5 + 75 should focus just as quickly as a DSLR, but CDAF cannot track movement. It just focuses on the area of greatest contrast.