1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Epl2 & p14/p20

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Aldredge, Oct 27, 2012.

1. Aldredge

Aldredge Mu-43 Regular

Jun 12, 2012
    Toronto, ON
    Aldredge
    Hey guys,

I'm currently shooting with an EPL2, and the only two lenses I have are the 14-42mm II kit lens it came with and the Olympus 40-150mm R telephoto lens refurb. I also have the VF2, which I love. I'm fairly new to photography, with this camera being my first system camera outside of a point-and-shoot.

I'm considering buying a 14mm f2.5 now, with the hopes of eventually getting the 20m f1.7 around December, but I have a few questions for you guys:

1. How fast is the AF speed? My only frame of reference is the kit zoom, which I consider adequately fast. I've read that the 14mm is quick, but the 20mm is slow, but how are these 2 lenses in comparison with the kit zoom on the EPL2 and is it sufficient?

2. There are a few shots with my kit lens, which have some CA that I've noticed. Will this be a problem with these 2 Panasonic lenses on an Olympus body? Please note that I shoot jpeg, as I use iPhoto to manage my photos and no other PP software. I would like to eventually get Aperture, but I have a feeling that Apple might be coming out with a new version soon, but that's a another story. Would I need to shoot RAW with these lenses in order to deal with lack of in-camera processing?