Epl1 with adapted lenses

angloasturian

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
335
Location
Asturias, Northern Spain
I have many adapted lenses for my E-PL1.This morning I put on my Voigtlander 25mm/f4 and decided to experiment. I took three identical photos with the settings 'P', 'A' and 'S'. It was a sunny day so I set the aperture at f8 ( ISO 400). I found that both the 'P' and 'A' settings gave identical images (same KBs) and were impossible to differentiate (IQ, Colour, contrast etc...). The 'S' setting gave slightly overexposed images.
So, if apparently if you can use 'P' ( 'Professional' according to somebody, I don't remember who, and obviously tongue in cheek) and it works well, why bother with 'A' and , especially, 'M'. There are are probably many technical, artistic, aesthetic etc.. reasons why not - and I would like to know what they are. Please educate me.
 

Boyzo

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
784
Hi Colin
Ever since my film slr days I have used Aperture priority and so to with digital.

It controls depth of field, is the way I prefer to work for my image subjects also you can choose a "wide" Aperture to allow a faster shutter speed which aids sharpness.
A wide Aperture allows low ISO 100-200 so less noise

Some Pany lenses at maximum aperture offer very good sharpness without "Stopping down" 1-2 stops as is recommended normally ... besides often you don't need corner to corner sharpness.

Your P S and A exp. variations sounds like light change or human error

I have many adapted lenses for my E-PL1.This morning I put on my Voigtlander 25mm/f4 and decided to experiment. I took three identical photos with the settings 'P', 'A' and 'S'. It was a sunny day so I set the aperture at f8 ( ISO 400). I found that both the 'P' and 'A' settings gave identical images (same KBs) and were impossible to differentiate (IQ, Colour, contrast etc...). The 'S' setting gave slightly overexposed images.
So, if apparently if you can use 'P' ( 'Professional' according to somebody, I don't remember who, and obviously tongue in cheek) and it works well, why bother with 'A' and , especially, 'M'. There are are probably many technical, artistic, aesthetic etc.. reasons why not - and I would like to know what they are. Please educate me.
 

ajramirez

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Caguas, Puerto Rico
'P', 'S', and 'A' are automatic exposure modes. In 'P' (Program) the camera sets both aperture and shutter speed according to amount of light and ISO. in 'S' (Shutter Priority) the user sets the shutter speed and the camera sets the corresponding aperture, again depending on the amount of light and ISO. In 'A' (Aperture Priority) the user sets the aperture and the camera sets the corresponding shutter speed.

'S' and 'P' modes do not work with adapted lenses, because they depend on the camera being able to set the correct lens aperture. If you obtained correctly exposed pictures with an adapted lens in either mode, it was a matter of luck.

'A' works with adapted lenses because the light meter can read the amount of light coming through the lens (which depends on the aperture set) and set the appropriate shutter speed. This works even though the camera cannot communicate with the lens.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Antonio
 

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
Hi Antonio,

that's interesting! For legacy lens shooting, I've been using Shutter priority with Auto ISO on the E-P1/2/PL1 and finding that it gives me maximum exposure flexibility.

I can set the aperture on the legacy lens, shutter speed on the body and use EV compensation to adjust auto exposure... with ISO being adjusted by the camera to give the desired auto exposure.

It seems to be working extremely well for me... and quite consistently too.

Cheers

Brian
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
One thing I now find annoying, living in such a sunny climate, is that the M43 cams max out at 4000th of a sec
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
4000th of a sec...

luxury :rofl:

E-pl1 has only 1/2000 max speed
why did you buy the E-pl1 and not the EP-1

I reckon I may just get another EP-1, even with all it's faults, (I cannot stand the stupid ring dial, menu system etc - I need to go back to my Nikon, now, at least three times a week to keep sane), ..... as it really is a classic - reminds me of an Alfa, in a way, great cars, but I hated the seats and controls and the electrics were just scary
 

e-pl1

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
25
- little cheaper
- has flash
- better grip
- look better (subjectively)
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
- little cheaper
- has flash
- better grip
- look better (subjectively)
You don't need a built in flash with an EP - don't use it, the shots look great without it - you can hand hold it at some really slow speeds and the non flash low light shots look really great - IMHO

I thought that they looked the same - but anyway the EP-1 is a classic in the Oly style

]
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
I agree Bill, the silver E-P1 is still my favourite! the user interface needs an update, in line with the E-PL1 though.

Cheers

Brian
 

e-pl1

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
25
You don't need a built in flash with an EP - don't use it, the shots look great without it - you can hand hold it at some really slow speeds and the non flash low light shots look really great - IMHO

I thought that they looked the same - but anyway the EP-1 is a classic in the Oly style

I wanted black version...

I agree, if you have fast lens, there is no need for flash
PEN is very good at high ISO ;)
 

ajramirez

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Hi Antonio,

that's interesting! For legacy lens shooting, I've been using Shutter priority with Auto ISO on the E-P1/2/PL1 and finding that it gives me maximum exposure flexibility.

I can set the aperture on the legacy lens, shutter speed on the body and use EV compensation to adjust auto exposure... with ISO being adjusted by the camera to give the desired auto exposure.

It seems to be working extremely well for me... and quite consistently too.

Cheers

Brian
I stand corrected.:rolleyes: I did not factor Auto ISO into the equation. I guess it makes perfect sense that it would work with Auto ISO since the camera is adjusting the sensitivity of the sensor to the light reaching it. You are in fact manually setting the aperture and shutter speed, and letting the camera choose the ISO for the correct exposure. However, my original statement is correct if you are setting the ISO manually.

In any event, there should be no difference between setting the body on Shutter Priority and setting it on Manual, since you are manually controlling the aperture on the lens, instead of it being set by the camera.

Regards,

Antonio
 

ajramirez

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom