EPL-1 vs EP2

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by ting, May 26, 2010.

1. ting

ting New to Mu-43

Apr 12, 2010
    Hi guys,

I'm planning to get a camera within the next 2 weeks or so, but i'm still not decided on the model :frown: Hope to get some advice from the people here who're satisfied with their cameras! :biggrin:

I'm debating between the EPL-1 and EP2,

• supposedly better IQ
    • flash
    • lightweight (?)
    • iAuto mode

• damn handsome :D
    • price is similar to EPL-1 + EVF
    • larger LCD
    • dials...?
    • full metal build

I'm from singapore (prices are in SGD, 1USD = 1.5SGD), and the price for EPL1 + 2 kit lenses = $1240, while EP2 + 14-42 lens + EVF = ~$1600 to $1700. Assuming the EVF is ~$400, that'd make the EPL1+2 lenses+EVF cost as much as EP2 + 1 lens +EVF. Is it worth it to get the EP2? Or should I stick to the EPL1?

I'm an amateur photographer, and part of the reason why I'm getting the camera is for my halfway-across-the-world trip at the end of the year. I'm still a student, so I'm looking for the best deal :biggrin: I understand that it depends on my needs -- basically, I'm looking for a camera that allows me to "scale up", should I decide to pursue photography as a long term hobby.

I'm only leaning towards the EP2 because of it's looks&build :biggrin: and the cost of the EVF =/ Or should I get the EPL1, but with a cheaper EVF?

Those who own an EPL1/EP2, please share :biggrin:

Thank you!
  2. rssarma

rssarma Mu-43 Regular

Apr 1, 2010
    Here's something to consider, if you get the E-PL1 and add the EVF, the price difference isn't much, so the question you really need to ask yourself is, "Do I need the EVF?".

I personally have the E-P2 and while its pricier than what I'd like to pay, its a gorgeous camera with good IQ. The EVF is nice to have, but be careful with it: https://www.mu-43.com/f42/unfortunate-incident-my-e-p2-2448/
    • Like Like x 1
  3. mauve

mauve Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 9, 2010
    Paris, France