EP1 Menu and Exposure Settings

SS32

New to Mu-43
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
4
I'm considering an EP1 for a second camera as my DSLR is too heavy to lug around everywhere, but I'm concerned about the ability to manually control exposure settings. I read on DPReview that the EPL1's controls required a lot of button pressing in order to change exposure settings, but haven't found much regarding the EP1. Any DSLR owners on here that could chime in? I shoot with a 40D, and started on the original Rebel (350D), so I'm used to easily being able to change shutter speed/aperture/ISO on the fly. Thanks.
 

mikew

New to Mu-43
Joined
Jul 13, 2010
Messages
8
Well I'm new to the EP-1 as well coming from DSLR. I set it to Av (A) or Tv (S) and just twiddle the thumb wheel (not the dial) to get the speed/aperture I want and then let the AE sort it out. This is roughly what I do on the DSLR so I am finding that OK but of course if you use the optical viewfinder then you don't see what's set - you have to look at the rear LCD.

Maybe someone with more experience will sort us out :)

The biggest change I find is the lack of AF conformation in the viewfinder - when once again I use the optical VF. I am also a little deaf so relying on a beep isn't so great for me.

Mike
 

crookedfootball

New to Mu-43
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
4
Just got an E-P1 for the exact same reason (other camera is a D90). I'm finding the E-P1 quite adjustable via the two dials. The optical VF otoh is not so much use, since you can't tell what the camera is focusing on using it - so you're forced to compose using the LCD.
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
The Pen 1&2 have a great interface. You will find it very to adjust almost anything in a second or two. It's a very intuitive camera.
 

DDG

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
83
I read on DPReview that the EPL1's controls required a lot of button pressing in order to change exposure settings

I don't know about the EP-1, but on the E-PL1, you change exposure by putting the camera in either the P, A, or S mode, pushing the "up" button once to bring up the exposure control display, then using the left and right buttons to adjust it. So, getting to the point where you can adjust the exposure requires one button push.
 

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
The E-P1 has 2 dials for setting exposure, very flexible so you should find it possible to configure the camera to be very intuitive.

Be sure to step through the configuration videos we have for the E-P2 (pretty much identical for the E-P1/PL1) starting here :

Olympus E-P2 Quick Start

Cheers

Brian
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom