EP1 Menu and Exposure Settings

SS32

New to Mu-43
I'm considering an EP1 for a second camera as my DSLR is too heavy to lug around everywhere, but I'm concerned about the ability to manually control exposure settings. I read on DPReview that the EPL1's controls required a lot of button pressing in order to change exposure settings, but haven't found much regarding the EP1. Any DSLR owners on here that could chime in? I shoot with a 40D, and started on the original Rebel (350D), so I'm used to easily being able to change shutter speed/aperture/ISO on the fly. Thanks.

mikew

New to Mu-43
Well I'm new to the EP-1 as well coming from DSLR. I set it to Av (A) or Tv (S) and just twiddle the thumb wheel (not the dial) to get the speed/aperture I want and then let the AE sort it out. This is roughly what I do on the DSLR so I am finding that OK but of course if you use the optical viewfinder then you don't see what's set - you have to look at the rear LCD.

Maybe someone with more experience will sort us out :)

The biggest change I find is the lack of AF conformation in the viewfinder - when once again I use the optical VF. I am also a little deaf so relying on a beep isn't so great for me.

Mike

crookedfootball

New to Mu-43
Just got an E-P1 for the exact same reason (other camera is a D90). I'm finding the E-P1 quite adjustable via the two dials. The optical VF otoh is not so much use, since you can't tell what the camera is focusing on using it - so you're forced to compose using the LCD.

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
The Pen 1&2 have a great interface. You will find it very to adjust almost anything in a second or two. It's a very intuitive camera.

DDG

Mu-43 Regular
I read on DPReview that the EPL1's controls required a lot of button pressing in order to change exposure settings