EP-3 + Wide angle lens

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by MexicoMik, Apr 14, 2012.

1. MexicoMik

MexicoMik Mu-43 Regular

Mar 19, 2012
    Since I'm new to 4/3, anybody with some inside knowledge/educated guessing have an idea about whether Oly will ever make a wide angle prime? I'd love to have an 18 (35mm eq) or wider in a prime. I thought about the 9-18 but I would only shoot it at the "9" so it ends up being bigger than it needs to be for me. I have a Tokina 11-16 for my D7000 and I don't think it has taken a single shot in two years on other than "11" (Approx 17 in 35mm eq).

I may be be the only person looking for such a lens so I guess I can't expect Oly to make one just for me! But if they are looking at such a thing, it would affect how I might approach additional 4/3 lenses. Anybody heard anything re a prime wide micro 4/3 from Oly (or Panny)?

2. mnhoj

mnhoj There and back again

Dec 3, 2011
    Los Angeles
    John M
    You are not alone. I'm very happy with my 7.5 Rokinon but a theoretical rectilinear 8mm 3.5 by Samyang for $350 could possibly replace the Rok. The 9-18 is actually pretty petite. It might just work for you.

Here it is with the 20mm.
    6808610563_e12cd350ca_b.

3. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX
    I doubt that Olympus or Panasonic will release any more ultra wide angle lenses. Your choices are the Panasonic fisheye, Samyang fisheye, Olympus 9-18mm, or Olympus 7-14mm. Try to realize that your apparent shooting style is very different from the average shooter. For example, even with all of the professionals shooting full frame, you see the Canon 16-35mm much more often than the 14mm L. With Nikon, if they had made their lens a 14mm prime instead of a 14-24mm, they wouldn't have sold nearly as many. If that Tokina 11-16mm were a fixed 11mm, you can bet that it would not have the following that it has today.