EM5 with external flashes

MattyB

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11
Okay I'm probably being very stupid here, I've just recently replaced my G6 with an EM5 and when I went to try out my Yongnuo flashes and triggers (RF600 non ttl trigger, YN560 II canon - manual, YN565 canon TTL) The TTL flash didn't work with TTL on the G6 but the rest fired with out a problem. Now I'm finding I can't even get the manual stuff to trigger. My flash icon in the quick menu is sort of greyed out, opposed to being white with the included Olympus flash. Even an old Sunpack flash with no controls that works on everything isn't firing off with this camera!

Is there a menu setting I'm missing somewhere or does the EM5 not do manual flashes?

Thanks :)
 

SpecFoto

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
576
Location
So Cal
Real Name
Jim
The EM5 works (in manual) with non-oly flash, I use 3 different types on mine. However it will not be able to use TTL with any flash other than Oly or Panasonic compatible.

Verify in the Flash Setup menu or SCP that your flash mode is not set to Flash Off.

Verify in the Shooting Menu 2 that the RC Mode is set to off.
 

RamblinR

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
624
Location
Qld Australia
Real Name
Maria
Make sure you have the flash setting set to on in the menu. If there was enough light in the room the camera might have thought it didn't need a flash so you need to have this setting on all the time.
 

MattyB

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11
I've tried all these things and every flash I have except the small Oly included one doesn't work! I did notice though when I put the flash onto the hotshoe when its on, it fires off the flash automatically, without a shutter depression. Could I have a faulty hotshoe??
 

WasOM3user

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
458
Location
Lancashire, UK
Real Name
Paul
My EM-5 needed to have the earthing parts at the sides of the hotshoe gently cleaned/scraped before my Nissin flash would work reliably.

Used a very fine emery (nail file) board cut down to do this.
 

SpecFoto

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
576
Location
So Cal
Real Name
Jim
Is it just the flash trigger that will not fire, or did you put the a flash, in manual and not in ttl mode, directly on the hot shoe and still have no luck? (Checking if the trigger might me bad)

Try resetting the camera back to factory standards.

Try cleaning the hot shoe, only the larger center pin is used for manual flash or triggers, and make sure the trigger/flash is securely mounted and screwed in tight.

If still a no go, and If the LM2 flash works, which uses the accessory connector in the back of the flash housing for connecting, but other other flash do not fire off the hot shoe, you might have a faulty top flash shoe or internal connection.
 

Ross the fiddler

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
3,756
Location
Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia
Real Name
Ross
I would think if you are connecting a Canon compatible TTL flash to the Olympus camera then I would be wanting to isolate the TTL pins as they wouldn't be compatible with the Olympus camera & they line up & will connect. Just using tape would not be reliable but a hot-shoe adapter (with a PC connector) would work. Like this in this thread (although it doesn't suit this guys needs).
 

MattyB

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11
Is it just the flash trigger that will not fire, or did you put the a flash, in manual and not in ttl mode, directly on the hot shoe and still have no luck? (Checking if the trigger might me bad)

Try resetting the camera back to factory standards.

Try cleaning the hot shoe, only the larger center pin is used for manual flash or triggers, and make sure the trigger/flash is securely mounted and screwed in tight.

If still a no go, and If the LM2 flash works, which uses the accessory connector in the back of the flash housing for connecting, but other other flash do not fire off the hot shoe, you might have a faulty top flash shoe or internal connection.
I've tried with TTL flashes in TTL mode and manual mode, and manual flashes and manual triggers. The only thing I can get to work at all is the LM2 Flash. I guess since it's still under it's 90 day warranty I'll be sending it back :( Is this problem fixable or should I be expecting to get a refund and have to try to source another EM5? (I bought from an ebay store who offer a 90 day warranty and the camera was used when I got it - cheap skate I know!)
 

MattyB

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11
Update: I've got in contact with the shop and they claimed they've fully tested the camera and it was fine but wouldn't confirm they tested with anything else other than the LM2 so they've agreed to take the camera back and test more. Sent it off today and it should be with them on Wednesday after easter. Fingers crossed for a positive outcome!
 

Hazza

Just Clicking
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
1,281
Location
Huddersfield UK
Real Name
Harry
I have the exact same problem with my E-M5. It works fine with the small supplied flash, which uses the connector under the hot shoe, but refuses to fire with any of my other flashes.
I have a metz dedicated flash which fires fine on my other camera but not on the E-M5. I'm pretty sure that it worked originally but can't be 100% as I don't use flash all that much.

I will be very interested in the outcome of this, keep us posted.
 

RickinAust

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
239
Location
Australia
I had an issue with a FL600R on RC with flash not firing. I found that the battery was nearly out of juice (not in the flash the one in the camera) replaced it with a spare full one and it worked fine. I don't suppose that this could be the issue. I was really scratching my head as the camera still worked fine with no flash but the fl600R refused to fire?
 

hookgrip

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
May 21, 2013
Messages
150
I had the same issue as well. I tried using the manual radio triggers that worked fine on my 5D and D700 on my E-PM2, and none of them would work properly.

In my case, I could get them to fire intermittently, but not consistently.

Here's the thread I posted about it a while back, maybe it will be helpful:
https://www.mu-43.com/showthread.php?t=46850
 

Dusky

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
48
Location
Toronto
Real Name
Mark
I just tested my em10 with the yn568 and 565 with the yn622c trigger and it works. The only thing that I cannot do is use the high speed sync even if it is mounted on the camera... I can always see the shutter curtain past 250
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom