EM5 - space between small focus box grid

YantaYo

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
98
Location
Colorado
Hi,

I was able to get the small focus box but there are spaces between the focus boxes in the grid. Anyone have a clue how to get a small, solid focus point grid for the EM5? It is completely worthless like this. Not even sure why this would be an option.

Thanks~
 

Klorenzo

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,905
Real Name
Lorenzo
I think this is not possible using the arrows key. I usually focus on the closest point and then recompose just a little.

Otherwise with the touch screen you can place the focus box anywhere, and this could be an option for static subjects or when using a tripod.

I do not see this as a big problem, what is your specific situation?
 

YantaYo

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
98
Location
Colorado
I almost always use the electronic viewfinder so toggling between the touch screen to get a usable small focus is a royal pain.
 

darosk

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
706
Location
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Real Name
Daros
The smaller AF points seem to be more accurate than the larger boxes, so that's a plus. At least it seems that way in my experience. I just put it on single center AF point and focus-and-recompose, but that's just me.
 

Ross the fiddler

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
3,880
Location
Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia
Real Name
Ross
The smaller AF points seem to be more accurate than the larger boxes, so that's a plus. At least it seems that way in my experience. I just put it on single center AF point and focus-and-recompose, but that's just me.
It's only more accurate from the fact it is only focussing on that smaller area of detail & not affected by surrounding detail (as much) that would happen with the standard or larger area.
 

LowriderS10

Monkey with a camera.
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
2,482
Location
Canada
+1 for focus/recomposing.

Try it for a bit, and I bet you'll get used to it! :)

What really and truly was a PITA was when I was shooting the Canon 5D Classic and the 5D Mark II. The AF system is out of the 20D/30D, so it's designed to cover the small sensor. So we got a measly 9 focus points, all grouped together in the middle of the frame...whoopee.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom