EM5 MK11 Beginner Questions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by DannyG, Apr 26, 2016.

1. DannyG

DannyG Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 4, 2016
    Tasmania, Australia
    I am new to photography. Well not new, I have been taking photos for years but I am only just starting to learn how to take better photographs.
    So I want to start my own thread where I can ask some silly questions! They are going to be very beginner questions so I apologise if some of them may come across ridiculous.

We took our EM5 MK11 with a 14-150 lens out for the first time last weekend and we are learning a lot but already there are a few little things we haven't been able to find the answers to.

My first question for the thread is what is the difference between using a scene mode, in this case 'sunset' and just using manual settings in regards to the colours.
    Obviously the photos that are coming out of scene mode are really red looking.
    Is that because the camera is processing them with more of a red hue or is it because it is doing something that I could be doing myself by using different settings? Perhaps I can do it by changing the white balance or something?
    Thanks for any help and again I apologise for making thread that one day I can look back on a laugh at my very newbie questions!

Two samples of a shot that is using scene mode 'sunset' and one that is just using aperture mode. The scene mode is way over saturated with red on this one but at times it does work so i want to be able to adjust this 'look' myself.

P4240226-2. P4240226.

2. DannyG

DannyG Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 4, 2016
    Tasmania, Australia
    Question two!

We know we cant take macro shots with our 14-150mm but we are happy to take 'close ups' in most cases. However until we buy a dedicated lens that it is suited to macro shots what would be the best bang for buck adaptor to use with our 14-150mm to get better close ups??

Would either of these suit and if so which one would be better??