1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

EM5 mk1 with 12-40 2.8 or EM1 with 12-50

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by rudydew, Oct 28, 2015.

Tags:
  1. EM5 with 12-40 2.8

27 vote(s)
    93.1%
  2. EM1 with 12-50

2 vote(s)
    6.9%
  1. rudydew

rudydew New to Mu-43

Oct 28, 2015
    rudy dew
    Hello,

So I am new to m43, I now have the choice to get either the EM5 mark 1 with the 12-40mm 2.8 pro lense, or the EM1 with the 12-50mm, at the exact same price in both cases.

From what I understand the EM1 has an edge in terms of autofocus, having on sensor phase autofocus, adds WIFI and a better EVF, body construction and handling, + direct dials

The EM5 in this case would enable me to get the 12-40mm 2.8, which is a better quality lens

What would you choose ? is there a major advantage I missed ? Do you think the 12-40 2.8 is worth more than the EM1's advantages over the EM5 ?

Thanks a lot for your opinions

2. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

That f/2.8 lens is great and even better value in a kit. If you want to upgrade to the E-M1 you can get one used later - it will have lost more value than a used 12-40. If possible I'd get the E-M1 with 12-40 actually.

3. DoofClenas

DoofClenas Who needs a Mirror!

Nov 9, 2012
    Traverse City, MI
    Clint
    I'd rather do a used em1 and a used 12-40.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. rudydew

rudydew New to Mu-43

Oct 28, 2015
    rudy dew
    Thats a good option too, but I have a good deal at around 700$ and with guarantee, also Im now in Thailand and there is not that many option for used gear as in the states or europe

5. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew