EM10II(or III) vs. EM5II vs. nothing

sammykhalifa

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Real Name
Neil
All the new camera news has gotten me considering upgrading/updating mine.

I have an original EM10. It seems to perform fine still. Would an upgrade to one of these new(er) models be worthwhile? I understand the sensor is the same, and I've read the reviews, but sometimes it's hard for me to know unless I've really tried it, yaknow?

I'm not against Panasonic, bt I've been using olympus for several years now and just thought it might be an easier transition.

I'm looking at slightly older models both for the big price reduction (I'll get used/refurb) and because I don't want to change my LR to the new subscription model. So on second thought that rules out the EM10iii (and I heard they kind of nerfed the interface too).

mfturner

Mu-43 Regular
I would consider the feature differences and what they might mean to me. For example, any of the m5 cameras add weather sealing, and the m5.2 adds hi res. They might improve on the Ibis also. Would any of that be interesting to you?

To be honest, I added a cheap PM1 as a beater camera recently, and it's ancient 2 axis Ibis works surprisingly well for me even compared to the 5 axis Ibis of the m10.3. but I have pretty steady hands, so your mileage will vary...

ac12

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Have you thought about a used EM1-mk1.
I've seen prices about $300, and lower. Which makes me want to get one, even though I already have one.
Just make sure that the back dial works properly.
Except for shooting sports, I am quite happy with my mk1.

I wouldn't go to the E-M10 mk III.
There are too many software limitations. In my opinion, mk II is much better.

It's also really dependant on which price you're able to get.
E-M5 mk II has a better built body with more customization, a better EVF.
However, all of these are pretty close from the E-M10.

E-M1 mk I is different. It's really a great body.
Picture quality won't be better than your E-M10 though.