Em1 mark iii upgrade worth it?

Hey guys and gals, I’ve been shooting m43 for about three months and I love it! I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia and carrying heavy gear is a no go for me nowadays.

I’m a bird photographer and I’m shooting with an Em1 mark ii and a Olympus 100-400. I’m still learning and growing coming from Nikon but I’d like to hear opinions on whether the move to an Em1 mark iii is worth it? I’m looking for the cleanest files that can be cropped.

Thanks in advance!

retiredfromlife

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
I doubt there would be much difference in IQ.
The EM1.3 was the new processing engine in camera, hence it can do HHHR, starry night etc.

But for ergonomics, the joystick, dedicated ISO dial and new mode dial all make a better experience. You also get the "My Menu" for a custom menu.
The SCP also has some minor changes, and of course shutter actuations now doubled compared to the EM1.2 that may help if you do a lot of burst shooting.

So if you have the cash it is a nice upgrade, but possibly not if you are only chasing IQ.

Maybe wait to see what the new thing to be announced later this year, as the EM1.2 is still current.

ac12

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
I generally wait to do a 2 or 3 generation upgrade, unless there is SIGNIFICANT value in that 1 generation upgrade.
  • Example1. From the EM1-mk1 to the mk2, there WAS a significant difference; the EVF performance changed, the e-shutter was more generally usable, better CAF. The mk1 was painfully usable for sports (though perfectly fine for non-sports), the mk2 fixed all the issues I had with the mk1, so that 1-generation upgrade made sense, to me, and I did it.
  • Example2. From the EM1-mk2 to the mk3 however, I do not see a significant difference "for me." So I did not get the mk3, and planned to wait for the mk4 or mk5.
So, YOU have to evaluate the mk3, and determine if there is enough value in the mk3, over the mk2, to spend the money to upgrade to it.