EM1 II Slow2 flash

FrancisOak

New to Mu-43
Hi,

I have no problems when I use my nissin i40 mounted on the camera for long exposure 2nd curtain flash. However I want to be able to hold the flash remotely so have tried using my FL-LM3 as a trigger.
Once this i attached to the camera it flashes at the start of the exposure and at the end, so triggering the i40 too soon.
I am new to this technique and was wondering if i was missing a setting as it always flashes twice.
Replace with the i40 and all is well with no changes to settings. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Frank

FrancisOak

New to Mu-43
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
It’s probably red eye reduction. That emits a pre-flash to contact the pupil and prevent red eye.

Also, welcome to the site
Yes possibly, but why does the i40 not do the same?
I can use the i40 on camera but it is a little limiting, really wanted to be able to position way from the camera. Could this just be an issue with the FL-LM3 and the way it works?

Thanks

Frank

FrancisOak

New to Mu-43
My guess is that the EM1ii does not have a built-in flash and so the FL-LM3 behaves as one. I've never seen a third-party flash do red-eye. That's just a guess.
Hi,

That’s sounds highly likely, will continue experimenting. Thanks again for your input.

Regards

Frank

kbouk

Mu-43 Regular
Try use the FL LM3 just for the transmission to i40 not to compensate as a flash in the scene , you can do it through flash menu on camera.

FrancisOak

New to Mu-43
Try use the FL LM3 just for the transmission to i40 not to compensate as a flash in the scene , you can do it through flash menu on camera.
Hi,

Thanks, I have set camera to RC mode, but FL-LM3 still flashes at start and end of exposure, triggering my i40 at the start of exposure and not the end.
Can't see any way I can change this in menu.

Thanks

Frank

Mack

Mu-43 All-Pro
Do you have the flash in TTL mode where it fires two exposures? First for exposure test, and second for the final exposure.