EM-5 beginning to fall apart

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Ted, Oct 7, 2017.

1. Ted

Ted Mu-43 Regular

Oct 10, 2014
    Tasmania, Australia
    Theo B
    Hi guys,

I have an original EM-5 which I bought in 2014. It has now begun to literally fall apart. First the battery door broke due to fatigue of a plastic, internal part (got a new door on the way) and yesterday when I picked it up one of the small screws on the bottom of the screen fell out in my hand. I managed to screw it back in, but then noticed that another had fallen out at another time. Hopefully I can get another screw the same size and maybe lock tight them in or something, but it feels like what is otherwise a solid, well built camera there are a few weak points. I was wondering if anyone else had these issues and if there are anymore I should look out for? I'm just a hobbyist and don't really want to have to fork out for another camera at this point.

Thanks.

2. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew
    These are all known issues with the original EM5.

3. demiro

demiro Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Nov 7, 2010
    Yep. Your eyecup and strap lugs are surely next. :) Not to minimize the issues, but you should be fine to keep shooting.

4. Ted

Ted Mu-43 Regular

Oct 10, 2014
    Tasmania, Australia
    Theo B
    Yeah, I'm on my third eyecup haha. I will be sure to keep an eye on the strap lugs though, thanks for the heads up. I would hate to lose an expensive lens as well as the camera if it did drop! Does the mkII fare any better?

5. darrenleow

darrenleow Mu-43 Regular

Sep 30, 2011
    Singapore
    Replaced my eyecup with the EP14 thats meant for the EM10, its a tighter fit and less likely to fall off

6. NCV

NCV Mu-43 Regular

Mar 9, 2016
    Italy
    Nigel