1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

EM-5 and Metz 58 AF-2 Question

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by bstuke, Oct 5, 2013.

1. bstuke

bstuke New to Mu-43

Oct 5, 2013
    Lawrenceville Georgia
    I am Primarily an Underwater photographer, but recently bought this above water flash.

It has version 2.0 firmware and works well with the OM-D EM-5.

The challenge is the documentation shows the ability to turn the three beam AF light on and off on the flash, but that option is not there, and I cannot make it work. At all.

Thanks in advance if anyone can share some feedback as to getting it working!

I have changed all the other modes and such to see if it comes available, but no luck.

2. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Gordon
    On most m43 cameras the af assist is in the camera so the one in the flash is not used. The documentation you read refers to the 4/3 standard, not m4/3.

Gordon

3. bstuke

bstuke New to Mu-43

Oct 5, 2013
    Lawrenceville Georgia
    The EM-5 does have AFI, but it doesn't work well and is partially blocked by the lens. The three beam AF on the flash is significantly better. No sense in having this flash if I can;t use the features, 4/3 or m4/3.

PS. AF-Beam doesn't work on my E-620 either.

4. ThomD

ThomD Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 1, 2013
    SF Bay Area
    If AF assist from the flash is part of your requirements, you will need another flash. FL-600R is probably your only solution.

5. bstuke

bstuke New to Mu-43

Oct 5, 2013
    Lawrenceville Georgia
    I must be missing something. The Metz HAS AF assist. I am simply trying to get it to work...

6. ThomD

ThomD Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 1, 2013
    SF Bay Area
    What you are missing is that it does not work for all cameras. From the Metz manual for my flash:

7. beanedsprout

beanedsprout Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 13, 2013
    north central Ohio