EM-5 and Metz 58 AF-2 Question

bstuke

New to Mu-43
I am Primarily an Underwater photographer, but recently bought this above water flash.

It has version 2.0 firmware and works well with the OM-D EM-5.

The challenge is the documentation shows the ability to turn the three beam AF light on and off on the flash, but that option is not there, and I cannot make it work. At all.

Thanks in advance if anyone can share some feedback as to getting it working!

I have changed all the other modes and such to see if it comes available, but no luck.

flash

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Gordon
On most m43 cameras the af assist is in the camera so the one in the flash is not used. The documentation you read refers to the 4/3 standard, not m4/3.

Gordon

bstuke

New to Mu-43
On most m43 cameras the af assist is in the camera so the one in the flash is not used. The documentation you read refers to the 4/3 standard, not m4/3.

Gordon

The EM-5 does have AFI, but it doesn't work well and is partially blocked by the lens. The three beam AF on the flash is significantly better. No sense in having this flash if I can;t use the features, 4/3 or m4/3.

PS. AF-Beam doesn't work on my E-620 either.

ThomD

Mu-43 Top Veteran
The EM-5 does have AFI, but it doesn't work well and is partially blocked by the lens. The three beam AF on the flash is significantly better. No sense in having this flash if I can;t use the features, 4/3 or m4/3.

PS. AF-Beam doesn't work on my E-620 either.

If AF assist from the flash is part of your requirements, you will need another flash. FL-600R is probably your only solution.

ThomD

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I must be missing something. The Metz HAS AF assist. I am simply trying to get it to work...

What you are missing is that it does not work for all cameras. From the Metz manual for my flash:

If the automatic AF measuring beam is to be activated by the camera,
the „single AF (S)“ autofocus mode must be set on the camera and the