1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

El Nikkor 50mm F2.8 + OM telescopic extension tube

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Ecooper, Jun 16, 2013.

1. Ecooper

Ecooper Mu-43 Regular

Jun 15, 2013
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Ernie
    Hi all,

I am new to this forum; in fact I just discovered it yesterday! For that matter, I am new to the micro 4/3 system. I have been shooting with Olympus cameras for more than 35 years. I moved to digital about 7 years ago and then bought my first micro 4/3 (Olympus OM-D E-M5) 3 months ago. I’m still getting used to the new camera.

I mainly shoot macro. The thing about macro photography is that one always wants to get closer—to shoot at higher magnification and get a better look at some tiny creature. For the past couple of years I have been using a Zuiko 35mm macro lens which got me to 1:1 magnification, but I often wanted to get closer.

This past winter I bought a El Nikkor 50mm F2.8 enlarger lens off eBay for a whole $20.00. This lens has a reputation as a good sharp macro lens when reversed on a bellows. So using a couple of $2.00 adaptors (also off eBay) I tried mounting the lens (reversed) on a vintage OM telescopic auto extension tube 65-116 on my OM-D EM-5 body. The result was magnification of almost 2:1 with the auto extension tube collapsed, and almost 3:1 with it fully extended. Surprisingly, the working distance is very respectable at 6.5cm (collapsed) and 5.5cm (extended).