Ebay Flash Stands and Umbrella

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by cyrax83, Jul 1, 2015.

1. cyrax83

cyrax83 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 8, 2014
    Hey guys, I'm getting interested in portrait photography and practicing using flash and off camera flash

My gear currently includes an Olympus E-M1 and Nissin i40 flash. The flash does work in Remote TTL which is great, but needs to be fired by the little included flash as a trigger which should be still fine as it shouldn't add much to the exposure so I'm assuming I don't need any remote triggers or cables and I'm assuming it'll fire fine in sunlight (I read it's infrared so only line of sight required)

The Nissin i40 does come with a flash holder with a screw in socket at the moment that I presume screws into the flash stand

I'm unsure of what flash stand to buy on eBay (and Umbrella?). As I'm not a pro and it would be used very infrequently, the cheaper the better. The actual flash is small and doesn't weight alot so could get away with a lighter / more compact stand.

1. Any one give me some pointers on what to buy?
    2. Once I set my on-camera flash to RC mode, do I need to change the flash mode to 'Fill' or 'Auto' or something?
    3. : Will I have line of sight if using the umbrella?
    4. Would it be cheaper to try use my existing camera tripod as a flash stand? (Sirui T-005KX)

Thanks

2. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

You probably want to use manual or TTL so you can control flash ratio. A stand is better for realistic lighting as it can go above head height.

Most of all, look at lighting 101 from strobist.com.

3. PacNWMike

PacNWMike Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Dec 5, 2014
    Salish Sea
    guess?
    Shameless plug: I have some umbrellas FS in Buy & Sell I have some clamps too, if you are interested I'll post them.

4. cyrax83

cyrax83 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 8, 2014
  5. Paul80

Paul80 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 6, 2014
    Hi