1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-PM2 with two primes: what to upgrade

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by salentijn, Feb 9, 2016.

1. salentijn

salentijn New to Mu-43

Feb 9, 2016
    So I've been using my kit for a couple of years now to great satisfaction. It is a basic kit consisting of an E-PM2, Panny 20mm 1.7 and the Oly 45mm. In addition I have a Sirui tripod for some night photography. This year I will be traveling more intensely and therefore would like to do a small upgrade, but this is limited budget wise as photography is a relatively small hobby for me (mostly travel related and special occasions).

What I'm looking at is either an E-M10 II or a replacement for the Panny 20mm (probably Oly 17mm 1.8).

What I'm starting to dislike of the E-PM2 is the ergonomics and lack of good IBIS. I mostly shoot in A mode and changing the ISO and aperture is just not as convenient as dedicated switching wheels. Furthermore this year I'm traveling towards Japan and also Vietnam, and I would like to shoot lowlight/night in cities without a tripod, if possible. I also have a VF-3 lying around but never use it due to poor image quality.

The Panny 20mm would see a replacement mostly because of its slow AF. It bugs me a lot and have missed shots of people due to slow responsiveness. Also night and lowlight photography can be difficult due to hunting and slow AF. I'm not considering the 25mm of Oly or Panny because that will limit me too much during traveling, the absolute minimum is 20mm in terms of FOV.