1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

E-PM2 or other?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Kevii, Dec 5, 2012.

1. Kevii

Kevii Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 5, 2012
    Irvine, Ca
    Kevin
    Hi everyone, I've been looking around for a new camera to buy and stumbled upon the E-PM2 lately and was wondering if maybe I should spend a little less on a different camera for my needs. Basically heres a teardown:

1. I have no experience with DSLRs, I used to shoot 35mm and 120mm film. I didn't really have a big photography background since most of the time I just would P&S the film cameras. I dont know how to work with RAWs and etc.etc. Always willing to learn.

2. Most of my pictures are taken either in outdoor bad lighting or low lighting conditions or indoor bad/low light conditions AKA PARRTYS and dinners. I also would do outdoor sunny/overcast/blahblah but MAINLY social settings.

3. I AM looking for good IQ, however it doesn't have to be AMAZING. I mean I just want it to look NICE. I have friends who shoot with nice cameras and I know it wont match up to it but I would like better pics than my iPhone -_-".

4. Pricing isnt really a big factor..but I would rather spend less than more. I would rather start with something less pricey (PM1 or so) and then upgrade down the line. I mean if I wanted to I could buy a E-X1 or OD M5, but with my newbie skills it would be just a waste of money. I just want the best BANG for my BUCK that would be worth my investment.

5. Being portable is kind of a QUESTIONABLE issue. I know that with a big lens that 4/3 cameras aren't portable like P&S, but I'd love to buy some pancake lens to take it out on a more casually.