1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

E-PM1 with UHS-I card, useful?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Agent_K64, Sep 19, 2011.

1. Agent_K64

Agent_K64 Mu-43 Regular

Sep 19, 2011
    I just ordered my E-PM1. :) I now need to pick suitable storage for it. It claims to support UHS-I in the spec sheet, but would it make use of all this write speed? There's the SanDisk Extreme Pro 8GB UHS-I that I'm considering, but I'm wondering if that would be a waste of money. Should I stick with class 6 or 10 from a reputable manufacturer like SanDisk, instead?

I'm a total newb when it comes to photography. This will be my first (semi-)serious camera, so any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Canada
    Video or stills? If video you will need a class 10 for sure, if stills and your taking multiple shots one after another, or using burst mode them again class 10 more than likely, and the higher the write speed the less chance the camera will back up due to write tines. I personally use sandisk extreme III with a 45 MB/s write rating. I use an e-p2 and a e-p3 and it seems good enough for me. CLASS RATING IS A LITTLE MISLEADING, so find the read and write time ratings to be sure it will do for your requirements. The class number only guarantees a minimum rate so as I said find the actual values. Hope this helps you out. Welcome to the forum and congrats on your E-PM1, from a fellow Canuck.

3. Ray Sachs

Ray Sachs Super Moderator

Apr 17, 2010
    Near Philadephila