E-PM1 Questions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by DynaSport, Jan 5, 2013.

1. DynaSport

DynaSport Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 5, 2013
    Dan
    Hello everyone. I just found this web site and this is my first post. I am very new to the M43 world. I have been shooting with a Canon 20D for a long time. Yes, I keep camera gear a long time. As long as what I have works and I am getting good results, I don't feel the need to buy the latest and greatest.

I actually bought my E-PM1 many months ago, but I haven't had much time to take that many photos with it. It had been really hard for me to get used to the interface, since I am so used to the controls on my 20D. I do really enjoy having a smaller camera, though.

Here is m, dilemma, though. I have not been pleased with the photos I am getting with the camera. They are ok, but definitely no better. I have a little Canon SD1100 point and shoot that gives me just as good results, in all honesty. When I compare the photos to my many many years old 20D, it isn't even close.

So, here is my question. Am I wrong to expect results as good or better than my 20D? My 20D is an APS-C camera, but it is only an 8MP camera and is much older technology. I do have good lenses for it and the only lens I have for my E-PM1 is the kit lens, but I think I got better images out of my old Canon kit lens than I am getting with the E-PM1.

I wonder if it is me. Is there something I should know about M43 or the E-PM1 specifically that is different from other photography? I have been taking pictures a long time, and while I am no pro, I usually get pretty good results. But I just finished reviewing tons of my E-PM1 photos and at 100% they are very soft with much lost detail. When I review my 20D photos in the same way, they are mostly crisp and sharp.

Help please. I want good results from this camera.

Thanks
    Dan

2. Hyubie

Hyubie Unique like everyone else

Oct 15, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Herbert