1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

E-PM1 Came Back from Olympus with No Serial Number?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by twokatmew, Dec 17, 2012.

1. twokatmew

twokatmew Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 1, 2012
    Lansing, MI, US
    Margaret
    Has this happened to anyone? I had to send my E-PM1 refurb back to Cameta because it started losing the date & time when I changed the battery. Cameta sent it to Olympus for a circuit board replacement. When it came back, the language was set to Japanese, but I managed to change it back to English.

I was planning to sell the camera when it started losing the date & time, so when it came back from Olympus, I just verified that it was working correctly, which it is. But I started playing with it today and now notice that although the label on the body shows the correct serial number, EXIF reports a serial number of "00000001"!

I know this is not the end of the world, but it appears to me that whomever replaced the circuit board did a hasty job, as they never set the serial number. Anyone know if I can correct this by getting into the service pages on the camera?

2. Ulfric M Douglas

Ulfric M Douglas Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 6, 2010
    Northumberland
    Did it really come back set to Japanese? ... or did it never come back, and you're hosting a sinister doppelganger.

Lock your door at night.

3. twokatmew

twokatmew Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 1, 2012
    Lansing, MI, US
    Margaret
    Hmm, I don't see any smilies in your response, but I'm not sure what to make of it. And yes, I know what doppelganger means.

Yes, the camera came back set to Japanese and with no serial number. Shutter count, etc. had been zeroed out. Seems to me the tech just replaced the board and passed the camera along to whomever ships them. I'm not particularly surprised that shutter count, etc. were not restored, but certainly the serial number should have been.