1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-PM1: Buyer's Remorse?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dan'l, Mar 18, 2012.

1. dan'l

dan'l New to Mu-43

Mar 18, 2012
    Dear Forum,

I am a new member and this is my first post!

After much deliberation and a lot of research (including this site), I bought an Olympus E-PM1, VF-2 EVF and a Panasonic 20mm/f1.7 lens yesterday. I thought that it was want I wanted, but now I am in the grips of buyer’s remorse.

As background information, I have only limited experience in photography. Until now, I’ve only really used P&S cameras, though I have an old 35mm SLR my father gave me, which I am still learning to use. Although my P&S cameras have had zoom, I found that I hardly used it, since the zoom function seemed to lead to degradation of photo quality.

So, I thought that a MFT would be the way to go. I decided on the Panny lens after reading such good reviews. I can imagine myself using just that lens, since it seems a bit of a hassle to carry extra lenses with me. And now my dilemma: after coming home from the store and putting everything together, it just seems like the E-PM1 isn’t as sleek or compact as I expected. The EVF sticks out quite a bit and I wonder if I will a) lose it, or b) knock it against something and break it, for example when putting the camera in a bag. I thought that this was the camera I wanted, but now I’m think about something like the Fujifilm X100. After factoring in the EVF and 20mm lens, the final cost of the E-PM1 is about the same as the X100 (at least here in Germany).

My question: does anyone here have experience with both cameras? If I am going to use the E-PM1 with an EVF and a single prime lens, does it make more sense to get the X100?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions or comments.

Dan

2. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA