e-pl5 on digital teleconverter mode

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by CanonConvert, Feb 15, 2013.

1. CanonConvert

CanonConvert Mu-43 Regular

Nov 22, 2012
    i'm still quite new to e-pl5, so pardon me if the questions i ask are relatively simple.

1. the product page mentions it's possible to get 4X TC in stills mode, but i've yet to find any button that can help me to achieve that. the max is only 2x. the instruction manual says nothing about 4x too.. am i missing something?

1b. just to confirm, the digital TC in stills mode is completely useless if i only process my RAWs in LR right? it effectively crops the middle part of the sensor to output a jpeg that is 8mp (halved).

2. is it supposed to be the case that I can use digital TC in REALTIME when shooting a video? i pressed the zoom button on cam when shooting, but nothing happened. i have to stop the video first, use my Fn shortcut (for TC) to zoom in 2x, then start again.

i've dug through all the settings, but to no avail. hope to get some help here.

the manual is here but i can't find the relevant info :( (http://www.olympus.co.jp/en/support/imsg/digicamera/download/manual/pen/man_epl5_e.pdf)

---

other misc questions:

3. to get maximum DR, i want to shoot as flat as possible - so is 'Natural' or 'Muted' the better option?
    4. i used the mysets shortcut tagged to the record button. however, the funny thing is i need to keep it HELD DOWN all the way while shooting for it to be fixed. is there a way for me to toggle between A/B set by the press of a button?

2. betamax

betamax Mu-43 Regular

May 7, 2011
    NSW, Australia
    Alan
    I'm afraid I don't shoot movies at all, but 4x TC works if you set the camera to movie mode on the control dial.