1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-PL5 and Panasonic Lenses

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Cederic, Nov 14, 2012.

1. Cederic

Cederic Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 14, 2012
    Nottingham
    Heya,

I'm brand new to system cameras (unless you include a Zenit E that I haven't used for 20 years) and m43 looks like my best option.

Since Panasonic haven't announced the GX2 yet (so I can see if it's better suited to me than the E-PL5) I want the E-PL5.

However: I'm brand agnostic. I want the camera and lenses that fit best with my needs. So I want the Panasonic compact zoom (the 14-42 X lens) and the fantastic looking new f2.8 35-100 zoom (and a couple of others once my bank balance has recovered).

The pancake zoom makes the camera fit in my pocket; I take a lot of street photography and something discreet that I can just carry around when generally out and about is ideal. Being a zoom means I still have some flexibility.

Although the two identified zooms have no Olympus equivalents (due to physical size, or lens speed), one reason for going Panasonic on the lenses is to future proof them against getting a future Panasonic body with no IBIS.

So the main query: m43 has a reputation for blisteringly fast autofocus. Will the PL5 focus as quickly with a Panny lens as it will with an Olympus one? As it's the street photography that counts, the real comparison is between the pancake zoom and the kit lens that comes with the camera.

I appreciate that this may be a question nobody is in a position to answer. If the deviation is "too small to notice" then that's actually good enough; I just don't want to add a third of a second to the autofocus time as my approach to street means I'd lose many shots. (The autofocus speed of my compact is one driver to upgrade).