1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-PL3 - struggling for correct exposure when using flash

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Millsey, Jan 3, 2013.

1. Millsey

Millsey New to Mu-43

Jan 3, 2013
    Cambridge, UK
    Chris Mills
    Hi,

I'm fairly new to micro 4/3 photography, but am really enjoying it with a new Olympus e-pl3 and 14-42 IIR kit lens. However I'm missing nice photos of the family when using the flash because I either set it too powerfully or not enough, and the photos are overexposed or dark. Using the SCP, I vary the flash power between 1/8, 1/4, 1/2, and full power. But more often than not I get the value wrong for the particular situation. I shoot in Shutter priority mode mostly, to guarantee sharp photos. Can anyone help me? With my Canon Ixus compact camera its easy to take these type of photos. I must be doing something wrong. Other than this the camera is amazing.

Thanks,

Chris

2. Ulfric M Douglas

Ulfric M Douglas Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 6, 2010
    Northumberland
    I sometimes get a similar problem with my e-pM1 (almost the same camera inside) but I just carry on and hope for a sensible exposure. Don't blame yourself or your settings : it does this!
    (My Olympus DSLRs are reliable with flash levels and exposure, just this camera goes a bit wierd sometimes - so it IS the camera, not just you.)
    Maybe 10% of the time it is totally wrong, so I don't worry about it.

You should just carry on and take more photos than you think you need. :biggrin:

3. sokar

sokar Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 30, 2011
    Hi Chris,

I use both an EP1 and EPM1. I have found the TTL functionality of the EPM1 to e quite consistent and reliable with either the clip on flash unit or a larger external Oly flash such as the FL36R or FL600R. I cannot say the same for the EP1; it's TTL is unreliable.