E-Pl3 performance concern?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by smokinfastlegend, Jul 22, 2012.

1. smokinfastlegend

smokinfastlegend New to Mu-43

Jul 22, 2012
    Hey Guys, first off I am new to the 4/3s game, and consider myself a true form of an amateur photog.

I have had this E-PL3 for about 2 weeks and have been playing with it for a little while. I picked this camera up after playing with a friends Lumix GF2 and wanting to be able to carry something around that can take quality shots while not being as bulky as my Rebel XTI. The EPL3 I bought (bought brand new as well) came with the 14-42mm lens (should have bought with the prime lens though.)

Here is my concern, after playing with the camera on manual mode and automatic mode, I cant seem to get clear shots at 100% crop. My photos look good when at 25% but if i zoom to 100% in PS, no matter what, the image isnt crystal clear. I see noise in the color and the picture is fuzzy from this. I know having a zoom lens doesnt offer as crisp a shot as a prime lens as well, but for what I paid, id figure I wouldnt have this level of noise. Should this be something I should expect from the 4/3's platform? I know some of the areas Im complaining about arent in the focus area (so possibly just need a different fstop.)

Here is an example:
    100% crop:

Original resized:

100% Crop:

Just color me crazy if you think im being too critical. Im just bothered by the level of noise I am seeing.

I know these pictures arent great, but im a detailer by trade so when I am done with a job, I snap a few pictures for my portfolio.

2. daimos

daimos Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 23, 2010
    "But Grandma, what big eyes you have"
    "All the better to see you with"

it's all about sensor size. micro 43 is all about size, portability
    at acceptable quality.
  3. jyc860923

jyc860923 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China