E-PL3 HDR set up

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Hatefire, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Hatefire

Hatefire New to Mu-43

Jun 13, 2013
    Murrieta California
    Michael
    Camera epl3 14-42 kit lens polarize filter
    I am a newbie, I understand I need lessons at a minimum I need to read tutorials, and yes I need to experiment. That being said

I am going backpacking/fly fishing in the eastern sierras next week with a tripod

I would like to shoot pictures to process in photomatix for landscape HDR
    Right now I have my epl3 set up as record button is myset 1 3f 1.0EV
    Which mode A P S M should I be shooting in?

I can't figure out how to set it up for more than 3f
    Would like any other combination that an accomplished photographer can suggest, if this is possible, or is what I have acceptable?

Thank you

2. Hyubie

Hyubie Unique like everyone else

Oct 15, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Herbert
    Many might object, but I say for no-fuss shooting, P mode is usually good enough. Try shooting in raw+jpeg at least, just to be sure. You'd want to minimize the things that can go wrong when on such trips.

3. Hatefire

Hatefire New to Mu-43

Jun 13, 2013
    Murrieta California
    Michael
    Thank you. I'm going out this evening to try my hand at sunsets, and flowers.
    This is truly a great wealth of info on this site.

4. Batfink

Batfink New to Mu-43

Jun 14, 2011
    Newcastle Australia
    For HDR it is best to be in Aperture Priority mode, you don't want your depth of field to be changing, on a tripod and make sure IS is turned off.
    I use a E-PL2 and can set it up to bracket 5 frames at 1 stop intervals, so that 2 stops under to 2 stops over, and use continuous shooting mode, that way you only have to press the shutter button once.

5. Hatefire

Hatefire New to Mu-43

Jun 13, 2013
    Murrieta California
    Michael
    Thanks for the info, I'll give that a trial run tomorrow