1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-pl2 question..

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Exposed, Aug 17, 2013.

1. Exposed

Exposed Mu-43 Regular

Apr 13, 2011
    Central Washington State
    Randy dawson
    So I have been using my e-pl2 for about 3 years now and have been very happy with it. I started to shoot nighttime photos, lighting and such and am not sure about it now. Take alook at this photo and give me your thoughts. This was shot at 200 ISO at 6 seconds. I see loads of noise, or what I think is noise. I can reduce it via lightroom, but am thinking, if I upgrade to say the E-p5 or E-pl5, would I get a better RAW file to work with. I love the size of the pen's and I have the evf-2 so I am set in that area. Or..... would new lens give me a better file....???

So many questions going on in my head right now.....

Randy

Here is the photo, no noise reduction, a little exposure help.

722.JPG

2. dougjgreen

dougjgreen Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 5, 2013
    San Diego
    Doug Green
    I see a nice photo. The subject matter is much more significant than the noise.

It's like grain in film. If the photo was good enough, the grain wasn't an issue. The fact is, digital sensors produce noise during long time exposures.

3. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    Do you have long exposure noise reduction turned off? That is kind of a lot of noise for a nighttime exposure, my GF3 gave me some nice buttery night shots but they would definitely have looked worse with long exposure nr off.

4. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada