E-PL2 or GF2

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by AdamThirtle, Sep 28, 2011.

1. AdamThirtle

AdamThirtle Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 10, 2011
    Newcastle, UK
    Hello folks, I am currently an E-P1 user (and was a brief E-PL1 user, but didn't like the layout) with a few manual lenses, kit zoom (which is being sold to as part of affording the new set up) and waiting for that £$$%$&* 45mm 1.8.

As a poor wee student I am looking at what is cheap at the moment, but would still seem to be a decent upgrade.

Originally I was set on the E-PL2, but then had the thought, maybe I am just drawn to Olympus, and other options may be a bit better. Then I looked into the GF2, which would mainly be because you can get the pancake kit pretty cheap, and the video quality is a tad better. Is there a reason behind the GF2 being over looked quite a bit?
  2. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    Most people around here are irritated that the GF2 was nothing like the GF1, but instead a simplified dumbed down tiny touch-screen contraption. But some are fairly happy with it I think. It fit my hands very poorly and I missed having stabilization for the 14mm.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ssgreenley

ssgreenley Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 12, 2011
    If you're poor and your current camera works, why do you want to upgrade? Those both have your same sensor so while there will certainly be some Iq improvements they won't be huge. I'm just curious.
  4. AdamThirtle

AdamThirtle Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 10, 2011
    Newcastle, UK
    I wouldn't quite say poor (even though I did) I can happily afford the E-PL2 or GF2 as they would be replacing other things.

It's mainly the new generation cameras that would break my price point, I did consider waiting to get an E-PL3 but that silly 16:9 screen made me think again.
  5. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA