E-PL2 on Safari?...

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by eudeboy, Apr 26, 2011.

1. eudeboy

eudeboy New to Mu-43

Apr 26, 2011
    Hey guys,
    complete newbie here, so apologies if this has been covered over and over elsewhere...

I'm going on Safari in June and need to treat myself to some new kit.
    Having previously used Compact and DSLR cameras, I'm considering going the 4/3rds route, rather than investing in comparatively more expensive DSLR kit.

I'm looking at getting an E-PL2, with 14-42mm Mk2 kit lens, 40-150mm lens, 17mm pancake and VF 2 viewfinder.

Do you guys reckon this will be up to the task?
    Given that my alternative would be to buy an entry level DSLR either with an "all day" lens, i.e. Tamron 18-270mm, or with a kit lens and non stabilsed 70-300mm.

Also, I much prefer to use a viewfinder when framing shots, however having the ability to "shoot from the hip" will allow me to re-live my old Lomo LCA days.
    Does the combo of a PEN and the VF 2 feel like using a regular DSLR, albeit more compact?

Oh and one more thing, what bag would you recommended for the above PEN kit too?...

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. s0nus

s0nus Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 13, 2010

I too purchased my m43 kit before heading off to Africa!

I ended up with an EPL1, the adapted Olympus 40-150, and the Olympus 14-42 kit.

I described how I carried it here.

I did not have an EVF. For all the long telephoto shots (150mm), I focused manually via the LCD, cropping a small portion of the frame focused on my subject and carefully focusing while propping the lens against the door, window, roof rack, etc. Due to the cramped space in the vehicle and the funny angles, I would have taken an articulating LCD over an EVF any day of the week.