E-PL2 - Learning from my mistakes

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dcassat, Nov 20, 2011.

1. dcassat

dcassat Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 16, 2011
    I've been using my e-pl2 for about 3 months now - researching cameras for 2 months before purchasing. I love my camera and don't regret my purchase for a minute. I've taken a couple of thousand shots with it and made quite a few mistakes. I thought I would post of my lessons learned in case someone has these issues. Of course, these aren't definitive answers but I'm finally getting photos that are consistently acceptable with a few amazing shots just recently.

Problem: Blown highlights making me crazy
    Found ESP metering compensated best for outdoor shots, center weighted metering usually would cause issues with the sky since I would be focused on a darker area. Center weighted metering for indoor shots.

Turned on highlight and shadow 'blinkies' to control blow highlights on the fly

Turned off auto gradation which was causing all kinds of inconsistency. Set to normal.

Bought Adobe Lightroom and began to shoot RAW only. I now process all of my photos with Lightroom. I can't tell you how resistant I was to this. I just wanted to shoot JPG. Then I realized how much more data RAW has and how much better my photos looked with just a little boost. You can automate much of the process so that it only takes a couple of minutes to fix all of the problems for a set of photos. But you will probably enjoy it so much that days of fun will go by before you realize that you were supposed to be at work :redface:

Problem: Camera settings kept changing
    Use myset to create a set of default, indoor and outdoor settings. Enable the appropriate settings before each session. This feature takes a little messing around to master but it's very worth it. It's best to do this in A mode.

Enable the Super Control Panel and use it exclusively

Use the dial lock to keep your f/stop from changing when you're changing the EV.