E-PL2 Dental Macro Photography Setup

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by AlexShalman, Jun 20, 2011.

1. AlexShalman

AlexShalman New to Mu-43

Jun 20, 2011
    Hey everyone,

I'm an amateur photographer, and current dental student.

I just purchased the E-PL2 and also the Lumix G 2mm f/1.7 lens. I use it to take pics at parties, street photography in NYC, and my absolute favorite- food photography.

One thing I realized I can't use this setup for is Dental Photography, because my lens doesn't focus that close, and because there isn't enough light to properly illuminate the teeth and adjacent mucosa. Now I know I need a macro lens, and I know I need a ring flash. I'm not sure what all my options are.

Are far as lenses are concerned, all I found was the super expensive LEICA DG MACRO-ELMARIT 45mm / F2.8. Are far as ring flashes, I found the mecablitz 15 MS-1 digital.

I'm curious to see what other options I have for a dental macrophotography set up to add to my E-PL2. Thanks guys :)

2. Luke

Luke Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 30, 2010
    Milwaukee, WI
    Luke
    My dentist gets awesome photos using some sort of micro camera shot through a special pen-shaped tool (like a writing pen.....not an Oly Pen). I'm fairly certain that if you plan on using it in an office setting, that there is a specific tool that is better than our camera, but I have an appointment coming up in a couple weeks, so I'll ask him.....maybe I'll see if he'll get me some gruesome macros for y'all.

3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
  4. AlexShalman

AlexShalman New to Mu-43

Jun 20, 2011
    Hi Luke,

Intraoral cameras, the one's that look like a pen, are a different animal.

I'm looking for a setup that will let me take pictures of teeth from the front, then using cheek retractors and mirrors take pics from the side, and of the whole upper and lower arch.

5. photoSmart42

photoSmart42 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 12, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    • Like Like x 4