E-PL2 2nd lens recommendation for trip to Italy

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Zubz, Aug 15, 2012.

1. Zubz

Zubz Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 13, 2012
    Hi all. I recently purchased an E-PL2 and I'm enjoying it along with the kit lens. I am new to photography so I enjoy the point and shoot aspect to it, along with the ability for me to learn more about manual controls over time.

I will be spending 2 weeks in Italy and I am looking for advice on a 2nd lens that I can purchase and take with me. I would like to pack light while walking around / traveling. I am considering the Olympus 40-150 which can be bought new for $199 from Olympus at this time. This would be a nice addition to the kit 14-42. My other thought is should I get some sort of prime lens which seems would perform better in low light condition.

I lean towards the 40-150 as I also think I would enjoy using this at sporting events. What do you think of this along with the kit lens as a travel combo. I'm open to any recommendations besides this lens. Thanks in advance!

2. Steven

Steven Mu-43 All-Pro

May 25, 2012
    USA
    Well.. I don't know what places you'll be visiting. I am assuming you'll be hitting the usual classic highlights. I was there not long ago armed with only a point and shoot Panasonic LX3, which has a 24-60 eq lens. I was pretty pleased with it as far as the zoom range goes. Most of the old towns are pretty cramped and I didn't feel limited.
    If I were you , I would rather go with a brighter lens to take photos in the evening instead of a long zoom telephoto. Panasonic 20mm or 14mm would be good. Even Sigma 19mm .
    That's the main thing that I didn't like about the LX3 was the poor evening/low light performance. With one of those lenses you should do great.
    Another option would be to get the Olympus 14-150mm which I understand is available refurbished for 329 from Cameta.

Here's my Italy gallery, if anybody's interested: