1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-PL1 with a heavy lens Questions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Fred S, Apr 16, 2012.

1. Fred S

Fred S Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 20, 2012
    Calgary
    Fred S
    I have an E-PL1 with a viltrox adapter carrying a 4/3 70-300 lens
    The weight of the lens and adapter is close to 700 g
    Is this a little to much weight on the nose of an E-PL1 ?
    I currently carry the camera holding the lens.

Thanks in advance.

2. Ranger Rick

Ranger Rick Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 11, 2009
    Tempe, AZ
    Rick
    I am new to MFT, and have wondered about this as well. I had decided that something like my Nikon 70-300mm, even though lighter than a 70-200, is just too heavy for MFT of any kind if using a body-mount to the tripod. Even on DSLR's they are said to be too heavy to use via the body alone, and there are special collars with feet on the lens, which are then used to mount the lens on the tripod (the body then supported in the air at the back of the tripod-mounted lens).

Sent using Mu-43 App

3. everythingsablur

everythingsablur Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 4, 2010
    Toronto, ON
    Since you're holding the camera generally by the lens when you have that lens attached, it shouldn't be a problem.

Despite the body of several cameras being fairly plasticy, the lens mount on the body is always metal, as should a good chunk of the body frame itself. Other than some of the newer, lower end lenses (generally the kit lenses), the mount on the lens itself is generally metal as well. I've never heard of anyone's lenses getting sheared off because of the plastic mount, but in theory I suppose it could happen if you had a plastic mounted lens and dropped your camera in such a way and at such a height that the mount suffers the brunt of the impact force.

I don't think you have anything to worry about in that respect. If anything, holding that rig from the body would just be uncomfortable/unwieldy after a while.