1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-PL1 magnified focus turned into digital zoom?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Fnx, Nov 4, 2011.

1. Fnx

Fnx New to Mu-43

Nov 4, 2011
    Hi everybody.. I have the E-PL1 and for zoom I use it with a 70-150mm OM adapted lens. I was wondering if there is a workaround to turn that 7X 10X 14X magnified focus into digital zoom? I know from the camera manual that is not possible, but..... :-D It would be great to have that zoom when you need it.

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    No, that is not possible. You can crop it like that in post if you want, but you'll lose a lot of resolution.

Is it the OM Zuiko 75-150mm f/4 you have? That's a great lens... I like it alot.
    zuiko_75-150mm_web.

3. Fnx

Fnx New to Mu-43

Nov 4, 2011
    I thought it that way.. But would it be possible to implement this in a new firmware? I'm a newbie..
    I have the Vivitar 70-150/3.8.

4. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Panasonic has two types of digital zoom in their cameras, one that crops the original data and one that, I think, resamples it. Sure it could be done with a firmware update I'm sure, but honestly most Olympus users are not keen on digital zoom. Olympus is a more traditional camera and optics manufacturer than Panasonic.

5. Fnx

Fnx New to Mu-43

Nov 4, 2011
    I understand. Thank you.

6. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX