E-PL1 kit lenses

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by ting, Apr 12, 2010.

1. ting

ting New to Mu-43

Apr 12, 2010
    Hi guys. Nice forum you have here :biggrin:

I'm planning to get the white E-PL1, and the shop offers two deals. I'm still undecided, so thought I'd solicit second opinions.

#1 Body + 14-42mm kit is ~620USD;
    #2 Body + 14-42mm + 40-150mm + MMF:43:adapter is ~835USD

I'm new to this, and this is my first camera, so I'd appreciate any help on this. I heard that the adapter only comes in a set and won't be sold separately. Is the 2nd kit more worth it? Also what are the chances I'd need the 40-150mm instead of the 14-42mm lens?

Does Olympus produce good lenses, or should I save the money and get better m4/3 lenses?

2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus

Greetings and welcome to the board, ting!

I can't really help you with regard to that adapter. I bought the adapter for older OM-1 lenses, separately. As for lens choices and this being your first camera, my suggestion would be to buy the camera with the lens and then after you've gotten comfortable using both then to think about what you'd like to do next. Many people like their 17mm lenses and/or end up with the Panasonic 20mm lens - both are micro four thirds lenses and work perfectly with the E-PL1.

Yes, Olympus does produce excellent lenses. You might want to read around through the different posts within the Olympus forum here, as well as the Native Lenses forum... Don't hesitate to ask questions...and if a thread already exists, then just add your question on to it.

And finally, stop by the Welcomes and Introductions forum when you have a chance, too.:biggrin:
  3. dcisive

dcisive Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 19, 2010
    Salt Lake City, Utah