E-PL1 Honeymoon Over?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by scantron, Dec 14, 2010.

1. scantron

scantron Mu-43 Regular

May 10, 2010
    I've been shooting with an E-PL1 for about 6 months now, mostly with a Panasonic 20mm and occasionally with some Minolta legacy glass (from my trusty 35mm X-700). I used to use a Canon 20D and I'm kind of missing it's performance- but not it's bulk.

I generally shoot in A, M, or Art Filter mode. I'm getting a little fed up with the EPL1's slow autofocus and inability to autofocus at all indoors or in low light. Using the LCD to manually focus is not much fun in those situations either. This camera could really use an autofocus assist lamp. I'm wondering if the VF-2 evf would help me love this camera again, but sinking another $250-$300 in the VF-2 doesn't sound too exciting to me.
    The Art Filters are fun but end up looking kind of fake- like an iPhone shot or something.

I do still love the small size & portability, jpeg IQ (although I've been liking the RAW files more lately), and HD video capabilities.

I guess the purpose of this post is to see what other users still love and/or have grown to dislike about the camera after using it for a few months.

• Like Like x 1
  2. linkedit

linkedit Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 6, 2010
    New Jersey, USA
    For me the focus speed of the e-pl1 is the biggest disappointment, so much so that I've been seriously thinking about getting rid of it for a GF1.

For those out there that have used an e-pl1 and gf1, how much faster does the gf1 focus?

3. robertro

robertro Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 22, 2010
    I'd have to agree that the low-light AF can be annoying, though there are workarounds like focusing on a point of high contrast and then re-framing.

I can't imagine why Olympus left off the AF assist light - every $99 and up compact and many dslrs have it, and it helps greatly for many situations.