E-PL1 frustrations

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by DW99, Apr 5, 2011.

1. DW99

DW99 Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 5, 2011
    Hi everyone, I am brand new here and hoping to find some help...I think I may be missing something.

I am a very amateur photographer...however I have a brother and a father that are both professional photographers so I have been around cameras and picture taking my whole life. I did not, however, learn as much as I should lol.

I spend most of my time in the great outdoors of Alberta Canada and was looking for a high end camera, that was compact, had interchangeable lenses...but that was easy to use.....sounds like the E-lp1 right. well yes and no I guess.

I am not finding it so easy to use...at least not to do with what I want to do with it. Here are some of my frustrations, and maybe folks can help...

I find indoors with the OEM lens in the P mode or the iauto mode that image capture is terrible if there is any movement by the subject at all. I know I would get better results in different modes, but I am not able to manipulate the camera well enough to be comfortable doing so. The scene modes help some...but I find it frustrating that when in a scene mode...say macro..that I can only shoot in color, I cannot switch to B&W while in a scene mode. Or am I missing how you would do this?

I am also frustrated that is I choose to shoot in one of the scene modes and want to manipulate the color, brightness, contrast etc that it only saves those changes for one shot and then I have to reset all over again...and I cannot adjust the color setting as well as the brightness, contrast etc for a single shot...i can only adjust one of those options per shot...am I wrong? I feel stupid when using the thing because I am not getting the results I am used to. My last camera was an older fujis2000 and honestly I found it much easier to get amazing shots with and to "use" than this camera.