E-P3 Control wheel/button query

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by nandystam, Aug 16, 2011.

1. nandystam

nandystam Mu-43 Regular

Aug 16, 2011
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi folks

This might seem a bit of a newbie question, but I'm considering purchasing an E-P3. I've had some experience with Oly cameras before, as I had an E-620 and some other lenses.

I had a play with an E-P3 at a local camera shop, and the first thing I noticed was how small the main control wheel (and the buttons inside it) were! I don't have very big hands or fingers by any stretch, but it seemed a bit too small for my liking. I believe the control wheel is about the same size on all the different PENs?

How usable are the buttons embedded inside the main control wheel? To me they seemed like you could only press them with your fingernail, which was a bit of a concern, but maybe my concerns are ill founded?

I believe you can disable the wheel if necessary, is that right (obviously you can use the secondary scroll wheel instead) ? Does that help the usability of those buttons? Is there an alternate way to access those functions (e.g. exposure compensation) without too many button presses?

I'm considering the EP-3 + VF2/3 viewfinder, would that impact on usability at all?

Everything else about the PEN seems quite nice, that wheel/button seems a bit small but perhaps regular users find it quite OK?

2. thearne3

thearne3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 28, 2010
    Redding, CT USA
    Hasn't been a problem for me. I've had the E-p1, 2 and now 3. The control wheel has been the same size, though I believe the P3 wheel is a bit harder to accidentally turn. My hands are large and 'stubby', so I doubt you'd have a problem.

The whole dial is a 'rocker', so pressing one of the four sides is quite easy. Only the center 'OK' button is separate, though raised and also easy to press.

Finally, for me most adjustments while shooting are handled by using the 'Thumb wheel' above the dial.