E-P3 and Exposure Bracketing

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Luke, Dec 14, 2011.

1. Luke

Luke Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 30, 2010
    Milwaukee, WI
    Luke
    Hi all,
    I just got back from a frustrating walk in the fog. I set the camera up to bracket exposures. 5 shots - 1EV apart. Turned the camera to from single capture to sequential and did some bracketed shots of some foggy trees, etc. Then I set it back to single shot mode and started snapping some more photos, but it was still adjusting the EV by a step for each shot. I thought that was weird...maybe I was just seeing things and it was metering funny because of the fog. Then I went into the bracketing menu and turned it off. When I started shooting again, everything was as normal. I even went back to sequential mode, and it just did multiples of the same exposure as it should. Turned exposure bracketing back on and it still does the same thing.

Is there some way to tell the camera that I only want it to bracket exposures in sequential mode and NOT single shot mode (not sure who would want that anyways)?

Or is camera behaving oddly?

Thanks in advance for your time.

(man, so many blown shots......frustrating)

2. Art

Art Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 13, 2011
    San Francisco, CA
    I don't think so. You need to dig into the menu each time to turn on/off bkt unless e-P3 allows to program one of the Fn buttons for BKT. On my E-PM1 I created MYSET specifically for bracketing.
    What you want (bracketing in seq mode only) would be impractical for long exposure though

3. rramesh

rramesh Mu-43 Regular

May 27, 2011
    I have programmed normal into one myset function and exposure bracketing into another.

You can program myset choice into a fn button but I just select it from the menus when I need to use exposure bracketing.

4. RetroBoy

RetroBoy Mu-43 Regular

Yep, just gotta go in to the menu and turn it on or off each time, then set your shooting mode separately.